The world has received a great gift from the Eastern philosophy of healing the body and soul. The methods are based on metaphysical principles of energy patterns  within our bodies, and focus on centers (chakras) and pathways (meridians) that are not visible to the naked eye. Nevertheless, these practices are powerful and actually very scientific once they have been learned and mastered.  For thousands of years the teachings from countries such as India, China and Japan have been used and slowly but surely are being adapted by the Western world. Many medical doctors and holistic therapists are choosing to travel to these places in order to learn from the masters, and will return home with more advanced ways to best heal and treat their patients.

The basic difference between the Eastern and Western schools of healing is the approach to illness in the body. Alternative methods are based on the fact that the human being is the sum of its parts, that is,mind, body, and soul. If a patient is complaining of an imbalance somewhere in the body, the mental, physical and emotional aspects must be examined.  Western medicine will treat the physical ailments in isolation without including a good look at the whole picture. Although the world of conventional medicine is very advanced and very successful, it does not reach the emotional or mental cause of the illness, and all too often, the cure may only be temporary.

Eastern healing techniques believe that the source of all dis-ease does not start in the physical body, but will eventually manifest physically when there is a spiritual or emotional block that has not been released.

In order to live a true happy and healthy life, physical and spiritual bodies must be in harmony. Maintaining this harmony can be accomplished by balancing our Chakra System. The chakras are energy centers that run alongside our spinal cord, starting from the lower back, and all the way to the top of the head. They have been likened to spinning wheels of light, or the beautiful lotus flower with hundreds of colored petals opening one by one as the chakras attract energy into our auric fields.

There are hundreds of chakras that support and nurture the body at all times, but there are seven major ones that need to be balanced when one is feeling less than perfect.

Each of the chakras has a name, a color, a location and specific function. Its function incorporates both spiritual (emotional) and physical aspects(body organs, systems, etc) of the corporal body as well as the subtle esoteric bodies that  make up the auric field.

Base/Root Chakra

The first chakra is located at the base of the spine, and includes the lower back, legs and feet. Its color vibration is black or red. The mother earth energy from the center of the planet is absorbed through the feet, which is a grounding energy. It allows us to feel safe and protected on the planet, and balances our basic materialistic needs connected to survival, such as food, sex, and money. The base chakra is the home of the Kundalini  (snake or coil)energy. As this energy is awakened through increased awareness, it rises up the spinal cord through the chakras till it reaches the top of the head. At this point, it is said one will experience a powerful enlightenment.

Water/Sacral/Sex Chakra

The second chakra is located above the pubic bone and includes the pelvic area, genitals and reproductive organs. Also the gallbladder, spleen, kidneys and pancreas are governed by this chakra. Its color vibration is orange. It rules the balance of passion, sexual energy, creativity in any form, and fertilization. Sensuality and pleasure, inspiration and concentration are centered in this chakra.

Solar Plexus

The third chakra is located two inches above the navel, and includes the digestive organs and the liver. Its color is yellow to brownish yellow. It balances the appetite, and sense of self worth, and the right to prosperity. It is the seat of self confidence and self control. When in balance, the desire for power and authority is kept in check. The solar plexus stores many types of emotional trauma, as well.

Heart  Chakra

The fourth chakra is located in the sternum at the breast bone. It includes the heart, lungs, middle and upper back, blood circulation and vibrates to pink and green. It is the center of attitudes toward love. This includes self love, love for the family, friends, community and ultimately love of the Universe. It balances compassion, understanding and forgiveness. An open and healthy heart chakra is vital to allow the flow of energy from the lower three chakras up to the higher three.

Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is located at the throat, at the Adam’s Apple.  It includes the throat, neck, mouth, ears, and thyroid gland. Its colors are light blue, dark blue, and turquoise. It is the center of communication, self expression, creativity and sincerity. It allows us to speak our truth with self confidence, and find inner peace in order to be relaxed and calm.

Third Eye

The sixth chakra is located at the forehead between and slightly above the eyebrows. It includes the eyes, the head, the brain stem, and pituitary and pineal glands. Its colors are indigo, purple and violet. An open third eye allows intuition to flow freely to one’s awareness.  It will enhance insight, visions, concentration and the ability to see auras and chakras, and the connection to one’s divine guidance and higher self.

Crown Chakra

The seventh chakra is located at the top of the head, and its color can be pure white or gold. It includes the brain and the head. It allows the energy of the higher dimensions and the Source to fill the body and soul. It enhances feelings of Divinity, oneness, and unity. The purest of healing energies flows through an open crown chakra, and spreads to the heart and hands in order to heal others. It teaches the lessons of living only in the present moment, which contains one’s power.