Chakra-ImbalanceThe Chakras are energy centers within our subtle bodies, or our spiritual bodies, that are connected to our physical bodies. When one or more of the chakras are in a state of imbalance, the mind/body health becomes compromised since imbalanced chakras are those that have blocks. A blockage in the chakra comes from traumatic or negative experiences during a lifetime that have not been released. Negative thoughts or belief patterns will also cause blocks. Many times, one does not even know there are blocks, until the body suddenly demonstrates symptoms. Note that once the body is showing a physical symptom, the chakra has been blocked for some time. Although many believe that an illness causes a block in the chakra, it is really the other way around. The chakras are enabling healing by allowing the body to speak to the mind in many wonderful ways. As the message of pain or discomfort reaches the brain, most people will run immediately to the doctor, or in a worst case scenario, ignore the message.

Once the concept of Chakra Balancing is understood as a valid healing method, as every message saying something is off balance in the body or mind is received by the brain, the easiest and most efficient recourse would be to go into a Healing Chakra mode. These healings can be carried out by oneself, or by a qualified healer. There are many, many healing techniques available today to be learned or experienced that will clear and release blocks in chakras. Some of the better known are Meditation, Reiki, Crystal Healing, Reflexology, Acupuncture, Yoga, Acupressure, and Emotional Freedom Technique (otherwise known as EFT or Tapping).

It is known that as of today, there are hundreds of chakras in and around the bodies, with apparently new ones appearing as Universal Awareness becomes more developed. There are the major seven that are used for healing and balancing. The following information will focus on each of the seven, and what may occur when each is in a state of imbalance.

Base Chakra

This is the first chakra, located at the base of the spine, and rules the survival instincts – shelter, protection and safety. The physical counterparts are the digestive system, intestines, spine, lower back, legs and feet. Symptoms of imbalance: Lower back pain, constipation or diarrhea, knee pain, gout, rage and anger, fear, egocentricity, spinal cord dysfunction, lethargy, exhaustion, addictive personality, not grounded, financial difficulties.

Sacral/Water/Sex Chakra

This is the second chakra, located at the pubic bone, and rules over birth, sexuality, and certain creative energies. The physical counter parts are the kidneys, bladder, genitals, and uterus. Some symptoms of imbalance: Lack of sexual desire or passion, sterility, infertility, jealousy, kidney stones, urinary tract infections, miscarriages, sexual addiction, sexual diseases, creative blocks.

Solar Plexus

This is the third chakra, located two inches above the naval, and rules over metabolism, digestion, liver, pancreas, self confidence and emotional balance. The physical counterparts are the stomach, liver. Symptoms of imbalance: Need for excessive control and power, fears, stomach ailments, anger, nightmares, aggressive behavior, ulcers, feelings of victimization, lack of self confidence, bulimia, obesity, anorexia, isolationism, indigestion, feeling overwhelmed.

Heart Chakra

This is the fourth chakra, located above the sternum, and rules over love and its related emotions. The physical counterparts are the heart and lungs, middle back. Some symptoms of imbalance: Heart attacks, poor circulation, angina, high blood pressure, self hatred, asthma, lack of independence, acting naïve, suffocating others in loving and giving, lack of compassion, intolerance, weak immune system, lack of joy,

Throat Chakra

This is the fifth chakra, located in the throat at the Adam’s Apple, and rules over communication, truth and creativity. The physical counterparts are the throat, mouth, teeth, tongue, thyroid glands, neck and the shoulders. Some symptoms of imbalance: Sore throats, laryngitis, fear of public speaking, too talkative or too shy, the need to be an expert, inability to tell the truth, inability to speak one’s opinion, thyroid disease, anxiety, hyperactivity, lack of creativity, nightmares.

Third Eye

This is the sixth chakra, located centrally at the forehead above the eyebrows, and rules over vision, intuition, insight, intellect and clarity. The physical counterparts are the eyes, ears, head, and brain stem.  Symptoms of imbalance: Astronaut personality, spacey, too logical or too abstract, too many thoughts at once, migraines, forgetfulness, inability to remember dreams, inability to meditate, visualize or connect with inner guidance on the higher levels, poor eyesight, tension, inability to concentrate or stay focused.

Crown Chakra

chakrajpgThis is the seventh chakra, located at the top of the head, and rules over inspiration, Unity, Divinity, and Oneness with the Universe. It is the base of the spiritual body. The physical counterparts are the brain and head, the pineal and pituitary glands, and their hormones. Symptoms of imbalance: Inability to connect to physical world, confusion, headaches, hallucinations, mental illness, worry, dominant ego.

All chakras are inter-related, although they rule over different characteristics and functions. If one chakra is unbalanced, it could be due to the chakra below it being unbalanced. They work individually and cooperatively at the same time.  Therefore, it is important when balancing and clearing the chakras that they be treated simultaneously, that is to say, in the same session.

The symptoms listed here are a result of not enough energy being circulated to and within the chakra, due to blocks. Blocks are seen as black or muddy energy, and it is necessary to bring in white light to clear the blackness. This is literally done by meditating, breathing, visualizing and yoga, just to mention a few of the most popular and effective ways to clear blocks by introducing white light. Maintaining an attitude of joy and gratitude at all times is an instantaneous way of clearing negative energies. Those who can intuitively see the auric field report an immediate change in colors from black to pastels and whites around the aura when a positive or joyous thought replaces a negative one.